Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

Intro and Question: "what is Tiki to you?"

Pages: 1 8 replies

Hi all! My name is Rob and this would be my first post. I found this site while stumbling around the net searching for a tiki mug and a hula girl for my wife who is pining for Hawaii while it pours outside her office window.

I'm a video game artist in the Bay Area of CA and we took our honeymoon in Kauai and absolutely fell in love with all things Polynesian.

I'm wrestling with the desire to go nuts on collecting tiki stuff but I have so many hobbies already. :wink: Ah, who am I kidding? It's just a matter of time.

Anyway, I'm fascinated by this culture and plan to read up on it by getting Tiki Quest and Book of Tiki (which one is better in your opinion?) and that leads me to my main question: What is tiki to you?

From what I know, the culture was borne out of an homage or capitilzation (or both)on Polynesian culture and history. And from what I can tell, they never drank out of Tiki mugs. So where did all this come from? And how do you think it has evolved into what it is today?

I look forward to chatting with you all!
Oh, and your advice on the best place to start with this love affair, besides this site of course, are much appreciated.

Rob

I'll just touch on your book question.

I have both Book of Tiki and Tiki Quest. You really should have both; they are both excellent. The Book of Tiki is THE tiki/Polynesian Pop Culture "bible", if you will. Read it and you will start to understand what this whole tiki thing is all about and why we all love it so. Tiki Quest is chock full of pictures of damn well nearly every tiki mug, ashtray, restaurant menu, swizzle stick, you name it and it all belongs to one couple - Duke and Amy Carter (very nice people, might I add). It's more pictures than words.

So, you will definitely need both!