Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Music

Exotica group In the OC area

Pages: 1 15 replies

TM

No, I am not leaving the Smokin menhunes, but I am finding I have room for an extra band or two.

About two years ago, i made a post looking to start an exotica band in the OC area (Orange county, Ca.) and now two years later, the offer still stands.

I have originals, in the style of Martin Denny/Arthur Lyman. I am looking to play some of those, plus lots of classic covers. I am also heavily into Bossa Nova, and am looking to collaborate in songwriting with others who dig exotica.

I have been playing the bass for about 25 years now, am a profficient reader, and have played in several Bop/trad jazz groups. I also play piano, vibes and percussion, and can double on those and many more instruments.

My influences are Denny,lyman, baxter, Esquivel, david Rose, Henry mancini, Nelson riddle, Gil evans, Don Sebesky and others.

Please PM me if interested.

TM

Just curious, was the guy's post below mine just a joke or something? I noticed this was his third post only. I sent him a PM and two emails, and never got any reply!

You would think, that if someone puts a reply to a post advertising a genre where it is EXTREMELY hard to find qualified musician outside of New York or San Francisco, then that person might want to at least try to respond and find out what's what!

as it is, I consider it Ben's loss that he did not contact me. I can play darn near anything, and have an extensive background in jazz.

I will look elsewhere, and hope that next time people don't make fake posts like that.

it's really very sad. I thought I had finally found someone I could create exotica with, here in southern california, and it turns out to be a bogus post!

A waste of my time.