Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Beyond Tiki, Bilge, and Test / Bilge

Hunter S. Thompson is Dead

Pages: 1 28 replies

Depressing, but you know I never thought he'd just past away peacefully

http://story.news.yahoo.com/news?tmpl=story2&u=/ap/20050221/ap_on_re_us/obit_thompson

J

Can't believe he made it this long...sad news.

Oh-my-god. Why?

He killed himself? Surprised but not surprised. Oh man...this sucks. I saw him on Tim Russert about a year ago and he was travelling with bottle of Crown Royal. I knew that couldn't be good. He had it on the table during the interview I thought it was bad, but in the world of HST it's normal, so I glossed over it. I have never mentioned it here...but I am a photographer. Around that same time I saw him on Russert I did some press for him for Rolling Stone when he came to NYC for a book signing. PS, long story short....the pictures ended up running in High Times a few months later. All I can say is, I am glad I got to see him in person, take some photos, and have them documented in a place like High Times, a magazine he belonged in.

In the early 80s I tore a page out of Rolling Stone dated August 30, 1984 with a picture of HST and Oscar Zeta Acosta circa the 'Fear & Lothing in Las Vegas" period. It was the last page of the magazine they used to call 'Miscellany'. I saved the page, and for the last several years it has been posted on the side of
my refrigerator...right next to my photo of Johnny Carson.

I read 'Fear & Lothing in Las Vegas' years ago. I think I burned through it in a day or two. Coincidentally...when I visited a friend in LA around 1998, we went to Vegas..lo & behold we, totally unplanned, saw the Johnny Depp film version of 'F&LLV' in one of the theaters there.

As I write this Dylan's 'Knockin on Heaven's Door' is on the radio...

"It's gettin' dark, too dark to see..."

Farewell Dr. Thompson, and goodnight.