Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

What do you think?

Pages: 1 7 replies

M

I came across this site a while back searching for inspiration from Maori elements. Artists of these pieces, Kerry Thompson and Todd Couper, have a kind of flow that's way out of my league but when it comes to the kind of ideas that whisp in and out of my own imagination the images keep beckoning towards their arena. I know I love pieces such as these and will persist in driving my ideas on this path. Are these pieces things that CTc'ers would consider "tiki"? As one who posts on here infrequently, I am still learning what kind of artwork would not only be accepted here but embraced.

Check out the prices on them too at the website: http://www.spiritwrestler.com. It would be cool to have some of that stuff displayed at my house, but I would really have a hard time justifying that amount of cool based on my economic situation.

In the meantime, I'm going to keep carving away. There's a lot of work to be done for me to find my own groove.

Maori art has always been incredibly inspiring to me...there is nothing like it anywhere. It was seen in many, many tiki bars of old. The Kon Tiki and the Omni Hut, still open in Smyrna, Tennessee come to mind first..

B

To ME this is Awesome stuff. Tiki? Defenitely YES in my book. I have works by this artist downloaded and these and others from NZ like him are Utterly inspiring pieces. The perfect form and perfect, crisp detail, is very difficult to achieve and should be revered by anyone who is even just Thinking of creating any works of this type. Manokoa this tells me a bit about what makes you tick and what type of art turns you on.
Thanks for posting these treasures.
Here are more , some from the same gallery

This look familiar?

this holds my neck together

[ Edited by: Benzart 2005-11-18 00:06 ]