Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Other Crafts

Installing Matting on a Ceiling

Pages: 1 8 replies

I'm new to all of this and trying to get my tiki bar in shape. I've taken over a tornado shelter/closet to make a little "lava lounge" off the main tiki bar and it's only 5x8 yet for the life of me I can't get my woven matting on the ceiling (I'm going the short way). I searched for tips which produced "staple gun" and "glue".....which is fine, but I can't get the stuff to FIT. It's not square like wallpaper. If I trim the sides to make it square, it falls apart. I've tried duct tape on the edges, which helps, but there's got to be a better way. Any tips from you experts??

BTW - I'm LOVING seeing the carvings and tikis.....WOW!

LavaLounger
On the Great Plains of Kansas

You might try nailing some thin wooden furring strips around the edges of the matting where it meets the walls, then trim the excess matting away with a utility knife. Stain the furring strips before you nail them up, then you'll have a nice border around the matting.

I did something similar with the stiff matting that I mounted on the wall behind my bar shelves and it came out looking very nice.

S

Hot glue cures all...if you're using seagrasss matting like I did, after cutting, carefully (cause it's hot) smear hot glue along the edges, and, voila! It holds! Hot glue was actually our saving grace when trying to cover an acoustical drop ceiling with bamboo blinds. It's also holding up the bamboo trim on the ceiling. And the rope trim on the bar. And, well, you get the idea. Just be careful with the stuff, and try to remember to let it cool when it gets on you, rather than ripping it off right away. After it cools, it leaves your skin intact.
Another option is to employ one of the maxims that kept me & my wahine sane while building the Moai Lounge:
DON'T TRY TO FIX IT, JUST COVER IT WITH BAMBOO!