Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

Hi

Pages: 1 10 replies

E
Eric posted on Thu, Jan 26, 2006 6:01 PM

I am a woodcarver who is interested in Oceanic art & Native American art of the Pacific Northwest.
I came upon this place by accident,but it looks like this is the place.
The thing that got me hooked on carving,was going to New Zealand,and seeing the beautiful Maori carving at Waitange.
I also lived in Hawaii for 6 or 7 years before moving to the northwest(Washington).
I am studying the Native carving of this region,but my first love is Oceanic Art.
Those Fijians really know how to carve a war club.
Anyway Hello and I look forward to meeting you tiki people
Alofa

G
GMAN posted on Thu, Jan 26, 2006 6:14 PM

Welcome Eric. Glad you stopped by. Grab a large glass of iced tea and stay a while. It's nice here. Head over to "creating" and let the wood chips fly with the rest of us!

-Gman

Welcome Eric...I agree...this is the place to come for exposure to exciting tiki art.
On behalf of all of us carvers...I'd like to thank Hanford et al for the opportunity to
do our thing here. I'm sure I speak for many when I say that the FIRST thing I do when I
get home....and the LAST thing before "hitting the hay"...is check TC to look for new
posts. It KON-TIKI-TAGEOUS.

T

Hi Eric and welcome! The creating tiki forum is a bit daunting at first, what with all the threads, so it's best just to work through them a bit at a time. Definitely pay attention to stuff by Benzart! The man is truly a master!

E
Eric posted on Fri, Jan 27, 2006 10:07 AM

Thank You for the welcome.I just waded through a long post of Basement Kahuna.
All I can say is Wow!

hey, welcome aboard! where in Washington are you?

keep up to date with events by joining:

Official NW Territory Event Mailing List

other fun things coming up:
Maori Expo and Workshop

Burke Museum

NW Tiki Crawl 2006 Official Announcement!