Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Beyond Tiki, Bilge, and Test / Beyond Tiki

35mm Slide Scanner

Pages: 1 14 replies

I am looking at various scanners that will take 35mm slides and was wondering if any TC users have some input on my decision? I have a large collection of 35mm slides I want to scan and make prints from and also to have as a digital archive but so far, my search for a relatively inexpensive scanner has produced no results.

I was looking at the HP Scanjet 4370 (+/- $100) which will handle both 35mm slides and negatives but some of the reviews have cited software problems with no available patch to cure it. Some of the others I have looked at have had bad reviews stating blurry scans and such. I was reading these reviews on Amazon.com

Suggestions???

Thanks,
TTT

I'm an architectural photographer by trade, a friend of mine is a wedding/portrait photographer. We both use Epson photo flatbed scanners for negatives and slides and really like the results. I use the Epson Perfection 2450 Photo, he has the newer (and faster) 3200. Both will handle up to 4x5 and support enough resolution for really nice 24x36 prints. Not as good as a drum scanner, but in prints of this size, plenty good enough.

Classic Silver Line Boats

[ Edited by: SilverLine 2006-02-06 08:24 ]

So,

You just put the slide into the scanner bed and wo-lah?

I have a ton of Eli slides. Must try this. Thanks!!!

T

I also use an Epson scanner, which has worked well for slides. It's the Epson Perfection 1650 Photo. This model number is no longer being made but I'm sure there is an equivalent made by Epson. It was only around $100 and received favorable reviews on Amazon.com for its slide scans: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00005M259/103-6589932-5110227?v=glance&n=172282.

Despite one review to the contrary on the Amazon page, it is compatible with Mac OS X, with a software download from Epson.