Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

How Long Do You Wait?

Pages: 1 15 replies

Aloha Everyone,

Sorry for starting a new post but searching turned up nothing (gave up after 20 mins). I am not new to tiki but I am new to the carving of tiki. I have laid my hands on some palm (no pun intended, really!) and was wondering if you could carve while it is still not dry or is it best to wait? If it is best to wait, what are some techniques to help in that drying process? Thank you all.

Secos Sam

Just carve.

M

Typically, if it has substance vs grassy internals, You can carve it wet or dry. What kind of palm tree was it? Oh, and welcome to TC. Please post your work here so we can be stoked.

McTiki

TG

I've never waited, but that's just me. I'm not much for wasting time. Chop it up I say. You'll have plenty of carving time ahead of you, so why waste time now worrying about waiting for the perfect log to learn on.......

[ Edited by: Tiki G. 2006-04-27 08:43 ]

Aloha All and thank you for the responses to my questions. I have posted some pics of my carvings (firewood?) below. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks again.

This is #1. Seemed like it took forever using only chisels.

This is #2. Carved from some cherry wood from a tree in my backyard that I had to cut down. Yeah, I know. He looks like Abe Lincoln!

This is how #2 looks now 3 weeks after carving (waaah!) His new name is Split Daddy-O.

This #3 (right) and #4. Carved from some Jacaranda branches I had trimmed off.

This is #5 that I am currently working on. Also Jacaranda.

I wish I could take credit for this work in progress. I guess I can. It is #1 by my 11 yr old son. Makes a Papa proud!!

J

Neat style, Definitely something to be proud of. Split Daddy-O still looks good.

Split Happens. (I think I am going to use that as JohnnyP's tiki brand name)