Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

LowKat's stump conversion(s) #16 on page 3

Pages: 1 32 replies

L

I'm new to tiki carving but have worked with many types of wood in the construction trade.

OK, I had a 40 yr old Douglas Fir tree in front of the greenhouse in my back yard. Two winters ago we had a bad ice storm and little "ice bombs" fell from the tree and ruined the greenhouse roof. You can see the holes.

I called some local loggers and had it cut down along with another bigger diseased tree that was threatening my garage.

Had had the loggers leave me an 8 foot stump.

Yesterday I got creative and made a FrEakY tIKi.

Took a 14 hr day to carve him and another 1/2 day cleaning up the rough edges and staining it. It's the first time I've tried carving so I was extremely surprised with the results.

I have propane heat in the greenhouse and could tap into the pipe 6 feet away.... Thinking flames out the top of his head........

[ Edited by: LowKat 2012-11-26 22:35 ]

K

welcome to the group

KIRBY
Kirby's Island.com
The Tiki Adventure
Kirby's Gallery

[ Edited by: kirby 2006-05-29 00:20 ]

[ Edited by: kirby 2006-05-29 10:22 ]

K

by the way it looks awsome for your first attemped .. very impressive...your a natural for sure

Wow... great job!

B

Welcome to TC LowKat. That's an Excellent first tiki, Very Well Done. You made Excellent use of the stump, No stump could be more proud.
If it were my stump, I would cut it down and treat it and seal it and stand it somewhere on a cement pad. Left in the ground, it will rot away much quicker, but not for a few years.
Still, WELL Done!

cool tiki...I bet that was really tough working on the log in the upright position....
I am constantly twisting and turning on saw horses...I can't even imagine doing all of that
without moving the log. Really cool.

8T

On 2006-05-29 00:07, LowKat wrote: