Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

Mixology attempted- "Tropical Deluge"

Pages: 1 3 replies

S

Ok, first let me say that I've run a few quick searches, mainly on Google, but also here on TC just to try to see if the drink name "tropical deluge" is already in use, it may well be, but I didn't find one right off the bat. If anyone can point me at a pre-existing one, I'll gladly change the name on my little attempt at a drink.

That said, tonight, here in MD, amidst the ongoing downpour, thunder and lightning, I went down to the Lounge of the Seven Pleasures (dry so far!) took a few snapshots, and then decided it was important to commemorate the ongoing downpour, flooding, and mudslides taking place up and down the east coast. Sooooo, bear with me, and be gentle, it's my first time out actually posting my mad scientist-like attempts (picture a mad Tikiphile, backlit by lightning, bottles in hand! Cackling laughter emanates with within!)

So, a toast to those valiant souls out in this torrential rain. Tonight we DRINK (the good Rhums!), for tomorrow, we may all be swept out to sea!

exoticSabina's "Tropical Deluge"!
(Invented whilst listening to "The Best of Martin Denny's Exotica")

*GLASS 'HARDWARE' AND GARNISH-

Needed; one 'long tall drink' of a glass- 14oz (an etched Noritake bamboo pattern, if you really care about the details.)

One woven seagrass cup holder- to let only SOME of the heat from your hand through to the glass, thus allowing the ice to gently melt over time. If you don't have one, just use more coarsely crushed pieces of ice.

One straw (a tropical color would be nice!)

One sprig fresh mint leaves. Be sure the mint is fragrant!

One brightly colored Orchid (Ok, you don't NEED one, but it helps, it is after all, the "tropical" part, and I had some on hand.)

2 small cocktail umbrellas of different colors.