Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Other Crafts

question : painting on Tiki Farm tikis

Pages: 1 7 replies

T

I was pointed to this site by hewey an artist that hangs out on Sketch Kult as do I. I am a pinstriper and artist that recently has been painting on tikis made by Tiki Farm. The owner of Charlotts Web asked me if Id like ta stripe a tiki. She sells my work and is always lookin' for something different to give me to paint. Hewy saw two tikis I did on Sketch Kult 'n said he has not seen anything like them here 'n to give it a shot. So here are 2 Ive done for the Strangers show next Sunday and I have 4 more to go. As a collector is it less desirable if its painted. Im sure if I was Franco , Shag or Pizz they would be snagged right away.........( Im still workin' on gettin' known ) Let me know what ya think of these two.

a long tin lunch box I did
If your interested my other worx are on http://www.pinheadlounge.com ( TBonez ) and my web page that has a rendition of a Von Franco tiki pinstriped on a toilet seat http://www.tbonez.net Thanx for lookin'

[ Edited by: TBonez 2006-07-16 06:12 ]

H

Hey Buddy, glad to see you made it :)

As far as the "collectability" - depends on the piece. If its a limited edition mug (say a run of 200) I think modifying it would negatively affect its value. If they're relatively "common" some tasefull stripes turn it from run of the mill into a piece of art.

But Im no collecter, so Im not the best person to answer that.

Ill send ya a PM too.

Kustom Kahoona* - Tiki and Hot Rod Art by Hewey*

[ Edited by: hewey 2006-07-15 22:56 ]

JT

I think it looks great! If you sign and number them you've definitely got something collectible. How about one with colors that are only visible under a black light?

T

Kool idea but I dont think One Shot makes a paint like that also it would make it difficult to paint unless it was under the black light