Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

Tiki Central Documentary

Pages: 1 23 replies

Not sure how to start this discussion so these ideas might seem random.

Many of you know that I have been working on a Tiki Central Documentary on and off for the past 3 years.

I have event footage from a number of Tiki events where Tiki Central folk represent a strong percentage of the attendees.

-Oasis 2003, 2005, 2006
-Hukilau 2005
-International Tiki Day 2003, 2004, 2005
-OC Beach Burn 2004
-SF Crawl 2005
-NW Tiki Kon 2006
-Kon Tiki, AZ

• Plus many home parties and miscellanea

To connect the events together with a storyline I have been conducting interviews since 2004 and have at least 30 interviews under my belt. These interviews have taken me into the homes of many TC contributors over the years including, Bigbro, TikiTony, Unga Bunga, Dr. Z, Al-ii, Tiki Maxton, Puamana & Selector Lopaka, Swampfire, Onatiki, Munktiki etc.

To represent the geographic diversity of our group I have made every effort to get interviews with the geographically distant folks (distant to me). Lake Surfer, Tiki Wahine, Virani and more. I am planning a trip to Florida later this year to get our Floridian friends involved and hope to travel to the SF Bay area again also.

I hope to have it done by Oasis of next year.

Unlike other documentaries in the works or past I am trying to focus on the interpersonal relationships that exist as a result of internet connectivity. It will definitely be about tiki but it will be about tiki as our group decifers and implements it. In other words it will only feature visible personalities that have been on this board at one point or another (many have faded a bit)

I am working on the script to ensure some form of continuity but I am asking for input as to what you would want to see in a documentary about.... US.