Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Home Tiki Bars

Lowl light photography-OR- how to take pix of a tiki bar

Pages: 1 20 replies

D

THought I would open this topic up.

Tiki bars are dark, right? Right. So, being a novice photographer, I'm curious how some of you are getting such wonderful pictures of tiki bars. I cannot seem to get the exposure settings right. So I thought I would start this topic as a way for myself and others who are interested to hear how best to photograph in low light conditions. I am particularly impressed with Frank Tiki's photos from the Tiki Magazine release party at Tonga Hut. If anyone has tips, I would love to hear them.

[ Edited by: Digitiki 2006-12-04 09:15 ]

I know with 35mm cameras if you have an adjustment which will vary the shutter speed (slower to admit more light onto the film, and tripod), and you use high speed film (more silver), you can get better images. But hey who uses 35mm cameras anymore? As far as digital, I'm still scratching my head on that one.

Low light photography is difficult, film or digital. Your eyes have such a dynamic range, and adjust so quickly, that normal scenes appear... well, normal.

To the film, a single light in a dark room will either end up making the room look dark with the light exposed properly, or the room exposed properly, with that single light over exposed. You can play with this during printing or editing, but you can only do so much with what you have captured.

Here's an older shot of our home bar
Note that the bar itself appears ok to under exposed, but the neon lights and lcd tv are over exposed. This was taken on a tripod, and I could have followed this with a second shot but at a faster shutter speed, so that the lights would be exposed properly. Then, edit both photos together to get all of the image to look nicer.