Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Need advice...

Pages: 1 4 replies

M

Well I'm fairly new to the art of Tiki, but I'm really eager to get started! I am a very talented artist but have never done any carving or sculpting, well other then with a grinder on custom car parts. So I could use some direction to get the ball rollin'! I've been looking at Flexcut's web site and heard good things about their tools, so if somebody could recomend a good starter kit that would be great! My biggest concern however is where or how to get the proper logs for carving. I am assuming Palm logs are the best, but is there anything else that may be easier to obtain from the NW? I'm in Longview, Washington so there's plenty of trees and lots of lumber mills in the area, including the grand daddy Weyerhauser. If I have to ship or order something in that's fine too! Any help would be great and thanks in advance!

G
GMAN posted on Sun, May 27, 2007 5:48 PM

Meech,

Take a look at the Flexcut MC175 large sculpture set (4 chisels) and the MC100 deluxe set (10 chisels). I think those would get you on your way. Mountain Heritage Carvers usually has the good prices on Flexcuts. You can find them online or send me a PM and I will shoot you a link.

Can you get your hands on some redwood up there? Will from SCTikishack could probably speak better to the NW woods - at least I see he uses a buncha redwood. Search for SCTkishack on TC and read his posts and see what he has to say.

PM me if you want to discuss anything.

-Gman

Use cedar and pine. Redwood can be tricky if you're just starting out (cracks and flakes pretty easy)

Kiegs20 is in your state and does amazing things with a chansaw.

His thread:
http://www.tikicentral.com/viewtopic.php?mode=viewtopic&topic=13682&forum=7&start=0&hilite=kiegs

He's also the featured carver in this issue of Tiki mag

http://www.tikimag.net/

M