Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Travel

Could Hawaii be losing it's Aloha Spirit?

Pages: 1 32 replies

[ Edited by: Blue Hawaii 2008-02-07 06:30 ]

Aloha and welcome to TC.

I would challenge your question only this far:

As the 'native' population decreases, either in number or percentage of the whole, you will loose some of the spirit that makes wherever you are talking about the place you are talking about. For example, here in South Florida we have a huge influx of seasonal residents (snow-birds) and when they are in town it is a pain to live here. The traffic is horrible, the restaurants are all full, etc... But, as a stay-here resident I see a completely different South Florida because I know when and where to go for things and my South Florida is going to be way different that what you see when you are here or what you see in the media.

So, my challenge to your question is the perceived loss of aloha simply presentation and pacikaging? Or are the 'natives' really getting restless and getting ready to give new meaning to that War Chant of theirs?

And, as a follow up question, what are you doing to share the Aloha? I don't mean specifically, I mean in general... do you keep aloha in your heart and home?

K

I think you could say the decline in the "aloha spirit" (I've never exactly been sure what this is anyway, other than regular hospitality) would be a kin to the rise in crimes and decreasing general good manners evidenced everywhere.

On 2007-06-05 08:53, Blue Hawaii wrote:
I wonder if Hawaii could be losing it's Aloha Spirit? I hope not, and was wondering what some of your thoughts on this might be?

Mahalo for your time

Yes, but for completely different reasons.