Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Music

Conga Corner

Pages: 1 7 replies

I posted pictures of my Congas in my Vibraphone thread, but wanted to open a thread specific to Congas. I am a novice but just fell in love with this beautiful set and expect to be able to do some basics in a couple of years (slow learner...too many projects). :lol:

Mondo Congas

My Congas are LP Matador Custom Accent Drums W/ Black Hardware. I have the Tropical Fusion finish on mine (I also ordered the matching Bongos). Yesterday I was graciously given a wonderful gift from danlovestikis, so wanted to share it here in case anyone is interested in catching a copy. It is a book called CONGA DRUMMING A Beginners Guide to Playing with Time by Alan Dworsky and Betsy Sansby. The neat thing is that it has an instructional CD with it (which I know will be helpful to me). THANX Dan & Wendy. :wink:

FATIMA BLUSH: Oh, how reckless of me. I made you all wet.
JAMES BOND: Yes, but my martini is still dry.

[ Edited by: VampiressRN 2007-06-13 20:25 ]

.......Man! Vamp honey, those are VERY hip lookin! Yeah, congas iz fun. my 1st set was a pair of old blond,"Gon Bops". Now in the Agents, we've got a cool black set. Older fibes w/unusual skins. Wicked play to em. Have fun!..............Remy

Well I just HAD to reply to this post. I love congas and other hand drums.
These are my two favorites
The one on the left in the foreground is a Latin Percussion Giovanni series "quinto"...
wonderful and beautiful drum with great high tones...on the left a Bauer cedar tumbadora
made in Brazil. The Bauer is a great "soft" drum for recording but seems to lack the
volume needed for playing live. I love your Matador drums, they are very cool looking
and I am quite familiar with Matador quality.
And as you can see...I love djembes too.

Great pics....those babies are right at home with the tikis too. :)