Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Other Crafts

New Member would love some feedback

Pages: 1 31 replies

After reading this site for over a year I thought it was finally timre to
join. I just finished my third year as a vendor at the Hukilau in Fort Lauderdale. What a trip that was. I am a sculpture teacher and I create ceramic Tikis. I am including some pics of my stuff and I would love some feedback.

Aloha,
Barefoot Tiki
of
Barkin Barefoot Tiki

[ Edited by: Barefoot Tiki 2007-06-23 19:55 ]

When are you going to start making mugs?

T

I really dig your work.

Do you sculpt your tikis or do you have a mold?

They look fantastic!! Do you have a website?

Want a torch! Want a torch!

WOW!! Those are beautiful!! Really......do you have a website?

Cool pieces. Im sure the regulars over in 'Creating/Other Crafts' would appreciate hearing the technical ins-and-outs of how you make them. Have you thought about starting a thread of your work/processes?

Tama :)

Hey Barefoot!
I have been at the last two Hukilaus and remember your work very well. Your work is great! While we are used to all the carved stuff, the pottery gives a different option. The tiki torches are really wonderful! As a pottery student, I had often thought about trying to make those. Seeing your work let me know it is definitely possible. My only concern is the stability of the larger tikis. I would worry about something that size getting chipped or broken. Your designs on them are really great. I love the ones with the curvy tops that look like flames. The smaller tikis with the cords to turn bottles into tiki torches are wonderful. They are a convenient, more portable, and more economical way to get the look of the torch if you have a smaller space and are easier to pack and carry home.

[ Edited by: SouthBamaTiki 2007-06-24 07:01 ]

[ Edited by: SouthBamaTiki 2007-06-24 07:02 ]