Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Beyond Tiki, Bilge, and Test / Beyond Tiki

El Vado, an Albuquerque Rt 66 Motel, needs help

Pages: 1 9 replies

I know that many of you appreciate roadside architecture, tiki or not, and lament at what we've lost, so...

A November 14 hearing by Albuquerque's Landmarks and Urban Conservation Commission may determine the fate of the 1937-vintage El Vado motor court on Route 66. They are taking written and e-mailed feedback until about Monday, November 12.

Read up on the situation at on my blog at http://www.thelope.com/2007/11/save-our-cultural-character.html ...

Or at Route 66 News, http://rwarn17588.wordpress.com/2007/10/31/an-urgent-message-from-albuquerque

I'll repeat the pertinent email address here: [email protected]

UJ

I emailed her. I'm a professional sign designer/maker and told her about my company who specializes in old sign restoration and the value they have not just monetary value, but cultural and historical value.

Good News! I heard from Ed Boles, Historic Preservation Planner for the City of Albuquerque this morning, He reports:

Agenda Item 4: The Landmarks and Urban Conservation Commission voted 7-0 to recommend that the City Council designate the El Vado Auto Court/Motel as a City Landmark.

Agenda Item 5: The Commission deferred the El Vado owner's request for a Certificate of Appropriateness to demolish the El Vado until after the City Council's decision in the matter is final.

The city council now has 75 days to approve the designation. I'm optimistic.

It sounds like Albuquerque has a decent sytem to slow the demolition of historic properties long enough that they can really be examined. I wish that were true everywhere. Think of the tiki we might still have.

Excellent news!!! I'll keep my fingers crossed!

Hooray!