Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Googly Eyed first tiki

Pages: 1 14 replies

Dear Penthouse, I never thought it could happen to me, but... Sorry, wrong forum.
I'm totally inspired by all the great tiki and other oceanic inspired art everyone has posted on TC and I'm hungry to try carving one (or many) of my own. I've never done anything like this before and could use some guidance on what tools I need to get me started and stuff to seal the ends of my wood with. Any advice and/or directions to earlier posts on this subject would be very much appreciated.
Thanks for your help!

[ Edited by: whoseyrdaddy 2008-07-22 19:34 ]

a starting carver: http://www.tikicentral.com/viewtopic.php?topic=24249&forum=7&hilite=carving%20tools

"tools carvers use" http://www.tikicentral.com/viewtopic.php?topic=10451&forum=7&start=45

one of my favs "tiki carving methodology" (this link starts at page 5 where the pics started working for me, but I suggest reading it all)
http://www.tikicentral.com/viewtopic.php?mode=viewtopic&topic=6426&forum=7&start=60&hilite=carving%20tools

Use the search feature in the upper right hand corner to find more.

First, I would like to thank Polynesiac and everyone who pm'd me with their input on tools. Second, I would like to introduce my first effort - the Googly Eyed Fire Tiki! The inspiration for the googly eyes came from a photo found on page 247 of the "Book of Tiki". The "fire" part came from the fact that I accidentally set him ablaze while trying my hand at scorching accents onto a tiki for the first time.

The wood was terrible and full of knots, splits & rot. The cartoonish hands, thumb pinched to pointer finger, and hands posed in a yin yang-like arrangement a means for addressing two knots that I originally had not realized any prior accommodation for.