Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Does anyone have experience carving Ice?

Pages: 1 10 replies

Although this question isn't directly related to me carving a Tiki out of Ice, I have taken on some work over the winter producing Ice Sculptures for a Bar I have been working on, but to be honest I've never done it before.
Does anyone have any experience they could impart?
From what I hear it is easier than wood, but then I find out things like you cannot carve at temperatures under -7 degrees, unfortunately the temp where I am to be working has been colder in recent weeks.
Any help would be appreciated and if I have time I might try a Tiki with the spare block i have.

Nobody?

Sorry, my only experience in carving ice is to make small bits to go into a cocktail.

Having seen the process done on many occasions and in talking to a few of the people that have done it I can tell you that it is harder than it looks, and I mean that for both the process and the ice.

Brute-Force doesn't work because you will crack the entire block.

If your space it too warm your details will melt out too quickly. If your space is too cold the ice will get brittle and you risk detail work cracking off.

This is as told to me by a few different people and is not first-hand knowledge.

Now, if you want to make Tikis in the Sand I can help on that one.

Well I've started the Ice carving, its a lot easier than I thought it may be, I have enough ice to attempt Tiki when i'm finished up, so i'll post pics. only problem is we are experiencing the heaviest snow in 20 years 5metres and roughly 50 more cm a day, turn round to pick up anew tool and the carving has dissapeared.