Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

Island's Resturant

Pages: 1 17 replies

T

Yes, I am a newbie, but I do understand what we mean here at TC by "Tiki". Knowing that it is not authentic Tiki, do we like (cause I know it's not love) or hate the Island's Resturant chain? I went for the first time. They did have a tiki on the bar and some good masks, thatch and bamboo. It was fairly okay, needed better music for sure. It's got to be hard to do a "tiki chain". Just wanted to know how you all felt about it. I think they're only on the west coast.

They make great Baja Tacos so that's good enough for me! :)

Cheers and Mahalo,
Jeff

WooHoo Islands! Most of them have been decorated with things from Oceanic Arts :)

Though that is true, and O.A. is THE source for America's classic Tiki temples, much of their stuff used there is garishly painted. "The Islands" vibe is just what their name promises: so-called generic "Island life style", not true Tiki. The chain's color palette, with its Miami tones and Fiesta feeling is commercial, so I don't blame them, but hard core Tikiphiles feel that it is exactly that wishy washy non-committal Surfing/Tommy Bahama/Jimmy Buffet look that waters down real Tiki culture, which is primarily Polynesian, not "Wherever" Beach, be it Mexico, Bahamas, Florida, OR Hawaii.

J

If you do a search for "Islands Restaurant" you will come across several threads that discuss the TC population's opinions.

T

That all ends up being the Hanalei's Island Restaurant. I figured it would be a split. Sven, I'm honored that you even replied to my silly question. Your Book of Tiki is what pushed me over the dark side.

J

My apologies. I thought that was the one you were talking about.

M

I will eat a Maui Burger (best burger Ive ever eaten) inside one of the Islands Restaurants any day over eating salsbury steak in a coco's.