Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Music

Which ESQUIVEL CD should I buy?

Pages: 1 18 replies

just wondering what the best esquivel cd out there is?

tc

Based on the music I've been able to downloa..er, find, you can't go wrong with any of it. I'm new to the Exotica scene myself, but Esquivel is definitely my favorite.
Buy any of his CDs, you won't be disappointed!

Both "Space Age Bachelor Pad Music" and "Music from a Sparkling Planet" are compliations from various Esquivel recordings, so they have a lot of strong, great songs on them that reflect the space-ageness of Esquivel perhaps more than his original albums. I'd recommend either of those....

~Hanford

As a total Esquivel fiend, I definitely have to recommend 'Cabaret Manana.' It has a bunch of his later stuff, which is even more off the wall. It also repeats a few of the songs from the albums Hanford recommended, but the new stuff is well worth listening to a couple of ones you've heard before.

I picked up ESQUIVEL "Loungecore" by camden originals in HMV and its a good selection of ESQUIVELS work and it about £7 and they seem to have it in stock quite regularly, I suggest buying that then spend a fortune hunting down and buying the viynl.

TC

thanks gang for all the responses which i certainly use to weigh my options!

cheers,
tiki chris

D

Of all the Esqivel I've heard, I have to say, the Christmas album showcases him at his zoom-zoom-zoom-pow! quirkiest. Also it has a nice campy space age vocal introduction lisped by the spectacled Spaniard himself!

Actually, he was a Musical, Maniacal Mexican... :wink: