Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Other Crafts

mug questions....?

Pages: 1 4 replies

K

i'm really trying to get going here and start making some mugs of my own. i was curious if anyone has some suggestions on the first step of sculpting. i've done a fair amount before, and i've gotten some good tips on carving from a completely different source.
if i make a sweet sculpt, is there any way i can ship it off to someone else to have them make a mold and everything for it? i don't know how much i trust myself with all the steps that follow the sculpting process. hahhaha!

I know nothing about making mugs but suggest you make very small numbered and signed runs, 50 each, and charge a ridiculous amount for them. $500.00 each.

O.k. I was just kidding.

Nevermind Bohemiann, he's just jealous because he has to BUY all of his mugs :)

Kiyosai, I'm no artist but I have made a few mugs with the help of some great people on this board. Here are a couple of great threads to get you started:

http://www.tikicentral.com/viewtopic.php?topic=28065&forum=18
By Babalu & Bowana. Lots of great info on mold making and some info about making a clay master.

http://www.tikicentral.com/viewtopic.php?topic=18329&forum=18&start=30
Here's an older thread by HMC. He went as far as to create a silcone master from his clay sculpt. Unless you plan on making hundred of mugs from the same design, that's probably not needed.