Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

Tiki Reference Guide Sought

Pages: 1 7 replies

I'm looking for a guide to the essential tiki images represented on the carved statues, wooden or stone, essentially wanting to sort out what deities-symbols refer to whom-what. Having no luck with Google or other search engines so humbly making an open plea for help at this forum. I do know tiki imagery crosses many cultures but best explained as looking for a 'generic' set of deities-symbols to best begin my education on said subject. URLs very welcome as are any titles of books or magazines-magazine articles as well, my sincere thanks to any whom care to reply.

Hello Patro Zero,

I'm having a similar problem. I've seen Americanized images of what I've been told are some of the rare, real Tikis, but cannot find pictures of the real ones anywhere. As a Tiki artist, I'm interested in a catalog of real and invented Tikis - the best I've found is Miguel Covarrubias' maps (The Book of Tiki), or Crazy Al Evans mind-blowingly cool chess set (Tiki Art Now, pg 24).

As far as cataloging the names of the real ones, the major deities would be fairly easy - esp. Hawaiian - but many other cultures carved images of ancestors belonging to individual families, heroes from their mythology, or one of the nearly infinite spirits they recognized - and most of those are just dorky-looking carvings of regular people whose names have since been forgotten.

The best I've found so far is "Oceania: art of the pacific islands in the metropolitan museum of art." The book throws a lot of names around, but is probably not the catalog you're looking for. Basement Kahuna has a very admirable dedication to real native carvings - I wonder if he knows of a single source for this type of info?