Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

EXPERTS - How do I preserve this old rotting Tiki ?

Pages: 1 16 replies

T

I acquired this very old Tiki. Apparently it was brought back on the Matson Ship Line back in the 40's or 50's. It's REALLY old, and the wood is peeling off. I'd like to preserve it so it doesn't continue to dilapidate.

Carver/Wood/Tiki experts...any tips on how to preserve this guy ?

Here are the pix.

FRONT

SIDE

BOTTOM - Really ROTTING.

[ Edited by: tikiyaki 2008-10-23 15:00 ]

Get a bucket or something it will fit in and fill it with some kind of sealer. Be sure and put something under the tiki (like popsicle sticks) that will stop the tiki from sticking to the bucket. Let it soak a while and find a place it can drain and dry.
I have used Jasco sealer before and just let it wick up into the tiki. Best of luck.

K
kirby posted on Thu, Oct 23, 2008 4:19 PM

Im no expert, but i wouldnt do much to it besides keeping it indoors in a safe dry place. If you put on any type of sealer or varnish it would change the appearance ..

T

Cool...Thanx. How long should I let it soak ?

So, jasco sealer is a good choice ?

Jasco (clear (not the green) is what you want) is not a sealer but rather a preservative it has all kinds of nasty chemicals that kill bugs, mold, anything alive. If the bottom has a rot which is what it looks like in the photos try soaking that in the hopes of killing it, be warned sections of it could crumble into a pile once it's wet.
Sealing it is a whole other matter which will change the appearance, but it might end up acting like a glue and stopping it from falling apart any further. It also looked to me like there was termite damage, you need to determine that and kill them if they are present.
I have never tried to save a piece that is that far gone so what I'm advising could be great or stupid.

Bosko

J