Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

Recipe: New To Tiki Drinks

Pages: 1 16 replies

Aloha, folks.

I'm new to mixing my own tiki drinks and I just got a hold of the Grog Log.

My question is, where do I start? Any recommendations on some good starter drinks to work on my tiki mixing skills?

Thanks.

S

See my signature. Just go for whatever you feel like. And measure your ingredients well. Also, I always make a double recipe. It makes the measuring easier.

P

Start with the simpler ones and ones that have more common ingredients. I would recommend mastering the Mai Tai first. Another godd start is the Chief Lapu Lapu. You need to find a decent passion fruit syrup for that. Other than that it is whatever strikes your fancy.

The Painkiller is a classic and a crowd pleaser. Don't forget the nutmeg and cinnamon. It's an essential part of the painkiller experience.

Ditto on the Mai Tai. It's the definitive tiki drink.

The Palace Court is excellent, as is the Sidewinder's Fang.

A Suffering Bastard can't be beat.

I could be quite happy for a long time with just those five drinks.

[ Edited by: Chief Bartender at Brenda's Tiki Hut 2008-10-27 15:03 ]

On 2008-10-27 09:29, Swanky wrote:
Also, I always make a double recipe. It makes the measuring easier.

Keep telling yourself that's why you make a double recipe. :wink:

Thanks, everybody. Decided to try my hand at the Mai Tai. Got the raw materials and now it's off to my little alcoholic chemistry set.

Thanks again!

On 2008-10-31 12:09, Suburban Beachbum wrote:
Thanks, everybody. Decided to try my hand at the Mai Tai. Got the raw materials and now it's off to my little alcoholic chemistry set.

Thanks again!

Personally I've always felt that the Grog Log Mai Tai was a bit off. I do however feel that Beachbum Berry has a perfect Mai Tai with his 100 Dollar version.
Do check it out: