Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

Lemon Hart 151 question

Pages: 1 2 3 98 replies

Hello,

I know alot of recipes call for the Lemon Hart 151.As a Tennessee resident I am unable to find Lemon Hart in Nashville and apparently they can't get it.I do not think that the distributor for nashville has it.SO basically NONE of the stores here have it.As a double wammy I can't get alcohol shipped to me either, another great TN law.So this leaves me a bit high and dry with the lemon hart 151... well at least DRY.I can get Eldordo Demerara although I have not seen the high strength 151 Eldorado here either. Are there any subs that I can use for Lemon Hart 151? Can you use Eldorado? Is it basically that it is calling for a Demerara rum or is the 151 important? I would greatly appreciate any help on this subject as it seems there is no way I can get Lemon Hart 151 here in Nashville.

thanks,
Todd

CJ

Being an ex-Shelbyville resident I would like to help you out and ship you some. Send me a PM if interested.

-Joe

Buy it while you can. The word on the Ministry of Rum forum is that DDL (the distiller) is discontinuing production of Lemon Hart 151.

See: http://www.ministryofrum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2713

Three possible replacements when supplies of the Lemon Hart 151 have run out:

1. El Dorado over proof. Limited distribution. I've never actually seen this up here in MA, but it is available in some states.

2. Goslings Black Seal 151. Not quite right but has a lot of flavor, similar color and consistency and packs a wallop. Pretty widely available.

3. Wood's Old Navy Demerara Rum. Not available in U.S. I picked some up passing through Heathrow. Bottled at 114 proof. Works really well in a Navy Grog.