Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

questions about palm from a noob...

Pages: 1 5 replies

P

Well, I have successfully made 3 tikis without a problem, but being a beginner, I hit my first roadblock over the weekend.

I procured a bunch of palm sections, of different varieties, thicknesses & lengths from a guy with a tree service. I took them home & it's obvious they're still a bit wet. Tried to take the planer to one of them and just made a mess. It was all stringy and not really wanting to cooperate.

I guess I learned that the palm sections need to dry before I start hackin' 'em up.

So here are my questions:

How long does it take this stuff to dry out? I live in Tampa, so it's plenty hot & sunny, and I put plastic bags over the tops and I'm letting 'em sit outside.

Are there some kinds of palm trees that are good for carving and some that are not?

Is it the wetness that makes them all stringy? Or is that just the nature of some palms?

I'm wondering if I filled up my truck & hauled a bunch of garbage home that I can't even use. And that would suck.

Its possible they are trash - but its also possible they are good. Need more details: species is #1. Florida has too many species of Palm to just pick up some chunks and hope for the best. Queen - bad, Sable - good, Coconut - questionable.

I find it's hit or miss. I've carved a couple of cabbage palms. Both worked, but were fairly soft and tricky to work with.
I know Aloha Station has had problems with coconut palm, but the one piece I carved with it was hard as a rock and wonderful to carve. I should say, though, that only the outer part of the trunk was usable, and the inside was too stringy and had to be removed.
Palm dulls your tools quickly, so sharpen them a lot.
I find that the wood needs to be dry, but not too dry, if you get my meaning.

P

So, sable is good, queen is bad.