Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

SDshirtman's first carve Finished 11/6/09

Pages: 1 2 55 replies

I've been working on my first tiki for several weeks. I did lots of research for design ideas here on TC and its been a great resource. Been doing lots of reading and studying on the artform. I'm an artist by trade but have never worked in 3d or carved before. I'm already getting addicted to it.
I took my tiki to Monkeymans chop a few weeks ago and got to meet lots of cool people. Thanks to everyone for all the great tips. I've been aprehensive about posting my work but as I promised 4WDtiki, I'm posting some pics of my progress. I'm reasonably happy with the progress but the more I browse TC the more I wish I would have chose an different design path more in line with traditional tiki. Maybe next carve.

So here goes.

Here are the logs as delivered. I have a tree trimming friend who hooked me up on logs. I wish I would have specified logs with out the husk.

I shaved the log down with a ryobi hand planer I got from home depot. $65

I roughed out my design and dug in. I had it in my head to carve my first using only hand tools. I'm using standard chisels and one gouge I bought from rockler for $65 (ouch)

Soon after I started I realized I didnt shave the log down enough so everything I drew got erased when I reshaved the log.

Here is the progress after a week or so. I bought a ryobi mouse sander for $30. I roughed out the teeth. I was going to do simpler teeth but thought throwing a tongue in there would be more of a challenge.

Here it is after some more work on the teeth and some work on the nose.

I wasnt really sure what to do on top so I went with a sort of crown design.

I'm probably being a little too meticulous but I'm using a small sanding block to flatten the bevels on the nose and crown.