Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

My First Carving or What I spent my night doing.

Pages: 1 24 replies

I decided to try my hand at carving finally, this is my first attempt at wood carving in general.
I also decided that for the first carving I wanted to use only hand tools.

So I cut down a try using nothing but some handsaws and a couple hatchets... and it took way too long.

Then tonight, I started carving away, this is what I have so far.

Obviously it's just the beginning of a long task.

I already learned one thing, and that is I need to learn more about trees and the types of woods.
My dad tells me this is an Ash tree, and that it's a very hard wood... at this point, I have no reason to not believe him...

That is too funny about the Ash. Yes, it is going to be horrors on your arms and tools, but it might out live you. :). You might want to cut it in half and just finish the bottom that you started. Let the top portion cure somewhere out of the weather.

I would peel the log, unless you are trying to incorporate the bark into the carving. What I have found to be the easiest way to peel a log is to use a 1" flat chisel and remove a strip of bark running the length of the log. Then, start peeling the log around it's circumference. Once you get the chisel under the bark it usually comes off pretty easy. Sometimes you can luck out and it will come off in large pieces.

It works for me

B

Welcome to TC Nicholauslee, Glad you found us. Love your first carving, looks like you've done it before. Yes the Ash IS very hard but you should be able to get lots of tight detail. Good luck,, we'll be waiting for more progress shots.

A
amate posted on Thu, Nov 19, 2009 5:28 PM

Stay at that hard wood and complete it. The ash has has a beautiful grain when finished with natural stain.