Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

How do you design your Tikis?

Pages: 1 12 replies

E
EzTiki posted on Fri, Dec 4, 2009 9:08 PM

I see so many different styles, I just don't know were to start when trying to design one.
This is probably a hard question to answer, but if you have any tips, please share!

I don't like to copy but I certainly get inspiration from all the great pictures of Tikis on here. Its a great resource for us newbie Tikiers

H
H

I'm no expert as I'm only on my 2nd tiki. My first carve was a culmination of elements I liked form different tiki's I found on the net and on this forum. I took what i liked and what I thought I could pull off. I took a technical approach making rough drawings and making posterboard templates of my design to mirror and trace onto my log for symmetry. The biggest piece of advice I could give is to TAKE YOUR TIME, plan and dont rush. Set your sights high and push beyond what you think you can acomplish. Dont be too afraid of screwing up. Just dig in.

T

Great advice so far. I took the approach of educating myself on the various traditional styles, because you're tight, there ARE so many differences. Learn what design elements make a tiki a Marquesan, Tahitian, Hawaiian, PNG, etc. Then you can either stay traditional, mash 'em up, or just go your own way to create something new and unique.

Pupule Tiki!

[ Edited by: TikiMango 2009-12-05 02:06 ]

L
laojia posted on Sat, Dec 5, 2009 2:59 AM

Here my approach:
-First documentation to know the styles, the books cited above are very good and most public libraries contain many other things. Obviously this forum is also a great source of inspiration...
-Then drawing drawing drawing ... So you get used to the shape and lines.
-After I started a few copies of historical or more recent work included here and there.