Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Collecting Tiki

Any info on this tiki? please?

Pages: 1 4 replies

Aloha,
I'm a tiki newbie. And have been reading this forum for HOURS tonight, and am fully obsessed with everything tiki now. My bf and I just returned from Kauai and brought this handsome tiki dude back with us. However, we know nothing about him other than he is pretty old(50yrs?). We tried to do some research to find out what his name is, but turned up nothing. We found other tiki's that look like him but ours has a penis and his hair(braids) go all the way down to his feet, the others did not.

So if anyone has any info on our new roommate it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Julie

Looks like your standard KU tIKI with a penis to me....but hey what do I know!!

Thanks Surf.

Hi Julie,

That's a pretty nice tiki. The Hawaiians tend to carve their tikis in the authentic, classical style, based on the very few original tikis to survive from 1800s. Yours looks like it was based on this Kona-style Ku image that currently resides in the British Museum:

There's another famous Ku in the Bishop Museum: