Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

Newbie: Greetings, mortals, from Baron von Tiki

Pages: 1 11 replies

Greetings ! Baron von Tiki here -- a complete newbie to Tiki and Tiki Central. I'm a substitute teacher from Wichita KS currently looking for work in another field. We have one sorta-Tiki bar in Wichita. It's a no-mixed-drinks dive-bar for rednecks, bikers, and other beer-swillers who don't know the difference between Tiki and Margaritaville. So, it's not much to write about. I prefer a local coffee shop, Riverside Perk, (and its Jungle Room), because of its lack of intoxicated loudmouths and its compliance with the city's No Smoking ordinance. (Bars are exempt).

I came to Tiki rather indirectly. I'd been peripherally aware of it by a friend's Tiki hobby, by thumbing through a copy of "Tiki Modern" at the bookstore, and from some font packages by the graphic design firm House Industries. But, I didn't really delve into it until just recently.

I suppose three things started me down the path of discovering Tiki: the TV series "Mad Men," a gift of a complete set of "Twilight Zone" DVDs for Christmas (my favorite show!), and my enthusiasm for our local drive-in theater, the Starlite Drive-In.

Coupled with interest in the vintage graphics used by most drive-ins, "Mad Men"'s and "Twilight Zone"'s depictions of pre-psychedelic 60s life led me to the internet and the library for books on drive-ins. From there, I pursued Space Age graphics and also discovered Mid-Century Modern interior design and architecture (particularly that of John Lautner and the Googie architecture of Wayne McAllister.)