Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

New Carver, First Project

Pages: 1 13 replies

W

Hi all,
A sometime lurker here, I finally let the chisel fly.

Please don't ask me to describe it...it is what came out of the log when I started chipping. I know there is a lot of work to do, but I am feeling somewhat pleased with the results so far.

This is my first attempt at anything like this, and I am sure more will follow. A very enjoyable way to kill several hours. :wink:

The wood is Poplar, quite dense when wet and pretty stringy. I was pleased to find out it actually cuts pretty well. I assume it will crack profusely as it dries.

Will in Nor Cal

T

Hey Will, welcome to TC. Good job there. I haven't carved poplar. It is very white isn't it! :P What did you use to carve him with?

On 2010-04-01 17:36, wilbilt wrote:
Please don't ask me to describe it...it is what came out of the log when I started chipping... I am feeling somewhat pleased with the results so far...A very enjoyable way to kill several hours...I assume it will crack profusely as it dries.

You'll go far with that attitude. You're letting the wood guide your carving, you're having fun, and you don't care if all your hard work ends up cracking! Way to get through that learning curve. :D

Also, that beer in the background probably helps, too. :wink:

S

Welcome! and a fine looking early on tiki. Feels good, your hooked.

T

Mahalo !!! glad to see a carver. That piece is very smooth what kind of wood?

B

On 2010-04-01 19:32, tikigodz wrote:
Mahalo !!! glad to see a carver. That piece is very smooth what kind of wood?

The wood is Poplar, quite dense when wet and pretty stringy. I was pleased to find out it actually cuts pretty well. I assume it will crack profusely as it dries.

Sorry couldn't resist :wink: :wink: :0

Great carve! That would color is very cool, will it darken much as it dries??

W