Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Home Tiki Bars

Humble Oxnard Beginnings

Pages: 1 17 replies

T

We live in Oxnard CA (see "Tradewinds" posts), a very historically significant area of the Central California coast I believe. Although now its fallen to abstract non-appreciation among the more afluent "crowd" around here. So I'm a Navy veteran and me and my girlfriend purchased this home on the north side. We knew we had a gem when we saw this foreclosure find! It was designed by Richard Kehoe and built by the Gunthers, a plumbing company owner, in 1961. Its definately "mid-century modern" or "Googie" as some call it? Anyway, I will be embarking on a modest tiki room in the near future and wanted some opinions/suggestions.

Here is a picture just after we re-painted it. These are the original colors. The previous owner had painted the home "bandaid brown"...

The backyard...

And the entrance. Note original room divider and rock wall. The other side is another rock wall and fireplace. That is where my tiki room will be. Pictures soon!

[ Edited by: tld92019 2010-12-23 19:14 ]

[ Edited by: tld92019 2010-12-23 19:15 ]

TT

Interior rock walls are the best... I think my landlord would object if i constructed one. I always say: If you cant love the rock wall you want, love the one you're with!

How fun!!! Looks like this home has some great potential. Take your time and do it right so that you complement the architecture. That room divider is awesome. Looking forward to pictures. :)

EDIT-forgot to say....Welcome to TC :wink:

"Oh waiter, another cocktail please!!!"

[ Edited by: VampiressRN 2010-12-24 09:16 ]

T