Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

Tiki Bars in NC, SC or GA????

Pages: 1 15 replies

I'm a relative novice to the whole concept of anything related to tiki, but I've developed a taste for it. It all started with Buffett, and has most recently ended with me going through heaps of junk in a thrift shop. Not my best day, but I did end up with a vintage Hawaiian tiki and two mugs, so well spent. Anyway, enough rambling. I'm looking for a tiki bar/lounge in NC, SC or GA, and I have no idea where to begin. Can anyone out there give me some direction?

For starters, pick up a copy of James Teitelbaum's book "Tiki Road Trips"--tons of info on tiki bars past and present, all over the US! Keep it in your car, it's most useful...

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/1891661302/tikiroadtrip-20

Here's a related thread on TC:

https://tikicentral.com/viewtopic.php?topic=2911&forum=1

Not to mention, try putting those states into the search function here on TC and see what you get!

aloha!

--tikivixen

L
laney posted on Wed, May 21, 2003 4:46 PM

Hi, Parrothead, just a warning, there are a LOT of people on this board who don't like Buffett and think anyone into tiki should hate Jimmy. Well there are plenty of us parrotheads here too (you know who you are) So don't be scared off by the "haters" I am a fan and go to 2-3 shows a year here in So. California.

I WOULD like to point out that the more people into tiki the better for all our beloved bars/restaurants and carvers. So cheers to Jimmy Buffett for bringing us more tiki lovers to help preserve our joints! So BE NICE!

Sorry, I can't answer your question, though, unless you move to So. CA. Welcome, Laney

Aloha Parrothead Mike,

Glad you found Tiki Central. I was wondering, what was it the Jimmy Buffett did/does that sparked your interest in Tiki?

T

On 2003-05-21 16:46, laney wrote: