Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

Recipe: Samoan Typhoon-Sippin' Safari

Pages: 1 9 replies

AA

Hey everyone

I'm new to the world of tiki and picked up a copy of Sippin Safari and couldn't find any posts about a drink in here.

Its on page 158 and its called "Samoan Typhoon"

4 ounces fresh lime juice
2 ounces unsweetened pineapple juice
2 ounces orange juice
1 ounce honey
2 ounces passion fruit syrup
4 ounces dark puerto rican rum
1 ounce myer's rum
1 1/2 ounces vodka
2 cups (16 ounces) crushed ice

the drink is for 2

For the 4 ounces of puerto rican dark rum I'm trying to figure out if he is referring to puerto rican gold rum or something else and whether or not to use meyer's dark or white rum (guessing dark)

any help is appreciatied since i'm new to all this.

mahalo everyone!

Yup. Myers's dark and probably Bacardi 8. Cruzan (Dark in this case) is my preferred PR rum substitute.

[ Edited by: jingleheimerschmidt 2011-08-30 16:24 ]

Bacardi Select is Puerto Rican dark.

Ron de Barrilito would probably also fit the bill.

havent had that drink before. man, that's a lot of lime.

[ Edited by: thePorpoise 2011-08-30 18:19 ]

On 2011-08-30 18:17, thePorpoise wrote:

That's what I meant to say. Although I reckon 8 would work but why bother?

AA

On 2011-08-30 18:17, thePorpoise wrote:

Ron de Barrilito would probably also fit the bill.

havent had that drink before. man, that's a lot of lime.

[ Edited by: thePorpoise 2011-08-30 18:19 ]

Thanks for the help from both of you, much appreciated!

I though Bacardi Select would be considered Puerto Rican gold, but maybe it's the samething I'm still learning.

It is a lot of lime but it is supposed to be a drink for two so that could be the reason. I'll post a reply when I make it and let you guys know how it is!