Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

kapu kai

Pages: 1 20 replies

I am new to tiki central. I was looking for information in regards to the Kapu Kai that was destroyed in the floods in 1969 in Cucamonga. I lived behind the Kapu Kai. I read from the posts from the son that some of the tiki's and fountains were stolen. I have been working on the history of Alta Loma and Cucamonga and was looking for pictures. During my search I found two pictures from a man on flicker stating he had a fountain from the Kapu Kai. I found the son of the owner of the Kapu Kai but have no contacted him yet. I'm here to ask you what you would do?

Aloha,

Don't know if you checked this thread for Kapu Kai info.

http://www.tikicentral.com/viewtopic.php?topic=5980&forum=1&hilite=kapu kai

I would let the Kapu Kai family know about the photos you found of of the old Witco fountain from the Kapu Kai, I am sure they would love to see them.

DC

I wonder about that claim of the origin of that fountain. It would be interesting to find out more specific info. The main Tikis in and outside the building were carved by Milan Guanko, and Oceanic Arts outfitted the rest of the place with decor. And in all the photos I have seen of Kapu Kai interiors I have not noticed one piece of Witco.

I voice my doubts because I have seen dealers claiming that their Witco fountain hailed from Stephen Crane's Luau, which clearly never saw a piece of Witco wood inside its rattan-covered walls.

I know this owner is not aiming to sell his fountain, but the fact remains that almost no Polynesian restaurant in L.A. in the 60s had to rely on Witco decor. They had a slew of local carvers and their works available to them. During Tiki Style's heyday, the folks at Oceanic Arts looked at Witco as "tacky" and cheap - an understandable stance which I hope to have relativated somewhat with my work since. :)