Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Other Crafts

Tiki Tonie's First Mug Feedback Please! I'm Back!!!

Pages: 1 13 replies

TT

Hi Everyone,

It's been a long time, but I'm Back! So while I was gone I finally finished my molds and have a glazed and fired set that I'd like to get feedback on please. I had the great pleasure of meeting Wendy at Malaho Tiki in Sacramento during the Sacramento Tiki Walk. Thanks Wendy for reminding me what a great place this is to connect with like minded people with similar passions.

I'm struggling to get the glaze just right. Any suggestions?

Hi Everyone,

I'm just getting ready to make the molds for my mugs and you all have been so helpful with tips and advice that I wanted to get your feedback on the mugs themselves. This is my first time so be, well I was going to say nice, but I would appreciate constructive criticism too! You might see issues with making the mold too, so I'd really like to know that.

The mugs are modeled after my dogs, Boo Boo the tall mug, Caduka (means Crazy in Guamanian), the little Dog Tag shot glass (that will hold about 3 shots) and then the bone stopper that started it all. I had purchased a Dirty Donny Unlucky Tourist decanter for my husbands birthday and the stopper was accidentally thrown away. Out of desperation, I thought I'd try to make a replacement. Well, I had so much fun making it that I kept going and now have a notebook full of tiki mug ideas that I hope to carve. If my first set is well received that is. If not I'll just do it for fun.

Ok here I go

Boo Boo (She's a girl by the way)

Caduka

Dog Tag shot glass

closeup of the dog tag on the mugs

The Back

The Girls

Thanks so much for looking!

[ Edited by: Tiki Tonie 2012-02-02 17:10 ]

[ Edited by: Tiki Tonie 2012-02-02 17:20 ]

[ Edited by: Tiki Tonie 2012-02-02 18:13 ]

[ Edited by: Tiki Tonie 2012-02-02 18:18 ]