Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Beyond Tiki, Bilge, and Test / Beyond Tiki

Basic Bar Manners

Pages: 1 0 replies

I read an article today about 10 things you should never do at a bar, so thought I would share. Luckily I graduated from charm school as a kid and my parents did not allow rudeness (I say please and thank you, I stack my dirty dishes when done, I point my curled pinky finger skyward when sipping a cuppa, I tip appropriately)...but I wonder now if I do anything that might be annoying to a waiter.

Are these items below typical irritations that occur? What is the proper way to get the waiters attention? Would love to have some insight from those in the business. What other irritating behaviors get under your skin?

1. WAVING MONEY - No one likes waiting at a crowded bar, but taking out a $20 bill and flapping it around to get your bartender's attention is not helping your case. If the 'tender is doing their job, they will see you - drinks are typically served based on who got to the bar first, not who has the biggest wad of cash in their hand. Flashing your cash may work at the strip club, but if the mixologists are keeping their clothes on, you should keep things classy when you're ordering a cocktail.

2. SNAPPING - The only thing worse than the money flap? A finger snap. Bartenders are a busy bunch, and 99% of the time they see you waiting there - so take a deep breath and please refrain from snapping your fingers to beckon them over. If this were the Victorian era, you could call your servants with the ring of a bell - there was no need to worry about patronizing them. Doing it in this day and age makes your server feel like a lowly Victorian server - not cool. The sole exception to this rule is if you're at a crowded Jersey Shore bar looking to order at least five kamikaze or Jager bomb shots. In that case, snapping will do.