Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

First carving attempts of a newbie

Pages: 1 21 replies

Well after lurking the depths of TC and seeing the vast collection of carving/sculpting talent - I have decided to jump in the water and try my hand at carving tiki...

......I like it!

(the back story) I found some Mexican Palm logs that a guy was trying to dump and, being a newb, I said sure I'll take'm! Hauled them home and stared at them for a month or so before I got brave enough to dig in.. Keep in mind I was all over this forum seeing the outstanding collection of work/talent and was feeling pretty insecure. Anyways, I traded tools for chisels and went for it. I did these by hand, including stripping them. I have to say I am hooked. What a zen kind of experience feeling a razor sharp chisel move through the fibers of a palm log :) As I carved away I soon realized that these gems were rotting from the inside out! So I decided to try and save the first little guy by hollowing him out.. also entirely by hand.. I started a second log and after cutting some deep lines I actually saw, and heard, it spit! Broke out the chain saw and cut out a section from the back and hollowed out the soft stringy rotting insides. this stopped the spitting. At this point I used the back piece to carve a mask.. So please feel free to share any advice.. I'm currently working on a third tiki and would appreciate you collective wizdom :D

... holds the plant so he doesn't feel so empty inside :D

Used a torch for color..

This is the guy that lost his back... Tiki #3, still gonna finish him

I'm learning a lot both from TC and hands on... most important lesson-keep your chisels razor sharp!

Nice work, especially like the first one. Must've been a ton of work to hollow him out like that

C

Welcome,

woaw, the first one...can't wait to see more.