Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Home Tiki Bars

The Monster Tiki Bar

Pages: 1 19 replies

I shot about a dozen photos of our basement tiki bar yesterday, including some closeups of some details. As a newbie I'm not sure how much to share so I'll start with a few basics. Let me know if you'd like to see more.

When we moved into this house a few years ago, this bar area was already in the basement. The wallcovering and the covering around the base of the bar were already there.

My in-laws live in Pensacola and we started bringing home tikis from a tiki carver every time we visited.

Our biggest tiki carving.

You've gotta have tiki mugs! We an additional set of 12 less interesting mugs that I bought in bulk. They are better for parties.

Our aquarium without water and a custom tiki carving. He looks like a monster we like.

Hope you enjoy!
Monster Tiki

Nice, looks like a fun place.

UNTIL THE LIGHTS GO OUT! :o

Q

Looks like a fun place to throw back a beverage or three! Do you have any low light capabilities for the bar or anything on the individual monsters, tikis, etc?

Nice collection! Thanks for sharing.

The lights above the bar are separate from the ceiling lights. We also have lamps next to the futon in the bar. When we are having a party we usually kill the main ceiling lights and go with the bar ceiling lights, lamp and accent lights we have in the room like the one that uplights the tall tiki in the corner.

Our house has an old odd style of light switch. I can't put a dimmer on them. I've not been able to find out much about them. The switches are small and in the basement workshop is some sort of panel which buzzes each time you press a light switch. I dread the day the system stops working. I think in 1965 it was considered the hot, new thing to use.

Looks like a great spot to relax n have a drink
Lookin good