Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Burning Help Needed

Pages: 1 21 replies

HT

So, I've begun construction on The Aku Aku Room, officially. I've started with the trim. Some of you may see where I got my inspiration from. And by inspiration, I mean an exact copy. Great artists steal, right? Anyway, it's my first attempt at routing trim. It's been a long time, and as The Aku Aku room progresses, I'll venture off into my own designs, but for now, I've decided to pay homeage to Bosko by turning his 8' pole pattern into 4" trim around the top of the room. There's a seam at 8ft, and I need something good to cover it up.

Now to my question. This is the first time I've done any burning, and it's not coming out properly. That is to say, the routed parts are still white. Am I just not burning things long enough? I'm being gentle with it, and just getting it to a nice patina, as you can see in the photos. I've got some small areas that I let burn longer that started to catch, and immediately blew out. I'm hoping Ben or some of you other experts out there will lend some advice. Oh, and since Redwood is damn near impossible to get locally, it's pine.

Mahalo.

What kind of torch are you using, the wood is untreated right & you have not applied
any thing to the wood yet?

I use a hand torch, I get them at my local Ace or Home Depot for under $20
and a hard wire brush, like the type used to clean a BBQ grill for removing light coats of ash
you should be able to get the routed areas charred the way you want.

You are doing multiple passes of burning, then a light scrapping to get the right look?

You could try a polyurethane coat.
Then a dark glaze that you wipe or brush on,
Then wipe off where you don't want it.
Could call it aging or antiquing.

HT

Thanks Will, going for burnt though.