Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Music

A New Guy and a New Hawaiian Music Blog

Pages: 1 11 replies

So much to say… I don’t know where to begin…

I have been lurking on Tiki Central for nearly six or seven years. I might have spoken out sooner, but I am so outspoken on every other forum in which I participate, admittedly it was nice to sit back and learn from all of you.

I am a musician who has dedicated his life to the study and practice of Hawaiian music - despite that I was born in Philadelphia and currently live in New Jersey. I play steel guitar, slack key guitar, and ‘ukulele, but my specialty is Hawaiian falsetto singing for which I won a contest in Honolulu and a recording contract with Hula Records. (Check out my tunes on Rhapsody, Spotify, eMusic, or iTunes. Artists who have been mentioned on this forum - such as Bill Kaiwa and Raiatea Helm - were the awarding judges.) I have made the journey to Hawai’i countless times by now where I suppose my love of their music and culture was so keenly felt that many in the entertainment community have since taken me under their wing. I have performed with many of the legends of Hawaiian music - including such old-timers as the still living members of the Hawaii Calls radio broadcasts…and even Pat Sylva of The Surfers. I feel privileged to be accepted into this circle of what I consider to be the finest musicians in the world.