Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

Tennessee Tiki

Pages: 1 7 replies

F

Hola,
As a newbie here, thought it’d be neighborly to post a quick hello and introduce myself. I’ve been interested in the “tiki bar culture” since the early eighties while attending art school in Fort Lauderdale.

A couple careers and moves later, I now live in the mountains of East Tennessee – not exactly a thriving tiki community around here so I travel the web to get my fix. In my quest for something a little more tangible, I’ve begun a project in my backyard; sort of a tiki/cantina ( a cantiki?) by converting an old barnwood shed into an outdoor bar. My motto has always been that “anything worth doing is worth overdoing.” So the project has grown in scope quite a bit.

The master plan features ponds, waterfalls, an outdoor firepit and of course, the bar. I’ve begun craving tiki into several of the tree trunks located at the base of the “lower party level” and, just this past weekend found a local garden center who has Easter Island type figurines in their concrete lawn decoration section.

You can view some pics of the work in progress at:
http://www.picturetrail.com/fastco

I’d love to hear your comments and suggestions on the backyard, and look forward to reading more here at tiki central!

Michael

T

Michael

You aren't all that far from a GREAT tiki restaurant - the Omni Hut in Smyrna is well worth a visit. It is BYOB, but the food is well above average Chinese food, and the place is clean, friendly, and definitely Tiki-fied.

There is also a run down bar in Knoxville simply called the Tiki Lounge, but I can't recommend it.

A place listed in Tiki Road Trip called the Tiki Beach Club (in Clarksville) has closed; I drove by and took a picture of the remains while on my way home from Hukilau last month. Looked like a dance club; you didn't miss much.