Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Home Tiki Bars

Rancho Mahalo - my new build in South Austin, TX

Pages: 1 33 replies

Aloha folks! - I've been looking around and enjoying posts here a long time, but lost my old account info. I'm a designer living in Austin, TX - and a longtime tiki fan. I finally have a project coming together thats worth posting and sharing, and could use use some good input here and there too. We have a cool little midcentury ranch home that we've been enjoying and doing improvements here and there for a few years, and finally we are ready to get the big screened in porch project - our South Austin Lanai - underway. I've got a great designer/builder I'm working with to bring Rancho Mahalo to life.

Heres a peek at the plan:

Its all screened in - so we don't have to worry with those Texas mosquitos and biting critters that can make relaxing with a Mai Tai a little difficult. All cedar construction and will have alot of cool custom tiki touches. Its going to be a big added area to enjoy at home. Nice modern A-frame roofline compliments the house and gives it a period shape - dig the custom "prow" shape at the top of the middle support beam.

The current patio is just a concrete slab with a small metal roof over it - we are taking the metal roof out and going over the top of the concrete with a raised deck to take in all of the space

The bar and furniture is from my good pal Von Franco, and used to be on his old tiki porch in Riverside, CA - we spent some good times hanging out back there, and now the bar is gonna get a new home here

Some great carvings from B-One Tikis

Landscaping is going in back there too - we had to hold it up a bit for construction to get going

But now it is rolling and progress is getting made - the subfloor going in:

And starting to rise up!