Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Collecting Tiki

Is this a Tepco Trader Vic's Hula Girl Mug (unmarked)

Pages: 1 11 replies

I'm a newbie and trying to figure out if this is Trader Vic's Tepco Fog Cutter Green/Brown mug. I have six and am not thinking of selling (maybe trade).I've included a close up of 4 of the bottoms. They are all heavy and high quality glazing.I tried using the topic Cool Hula Mug but only received a couple responses and there was a question on them since they are all unmarked.Experts Please help a bruddah out?Mahalo

T

Tikigreg Thanks for the link but as I said I tried in the cool hula mug thread(my posts are towards the bottom) but there seemed to be some discrepancies as one person (TikiPug) said "it's weird that there aren't any markings on the bottom" and only 1 person in that thread says they are Tepco for Trader Vic's (boutiki) "Al,
That is an early mug by Tepco for Trader Vic's. Hard to find those, good score!
-Duke" I'm new to colecting as well as new to the boards here and I can sorta see some of the others on the other thread joking with each other. I was just looking for a definitive answer from an expert.

Unfortunately, there's just not a lot of definitive information out there. When the mugs were manufactured they were never really intended to be collectibles, and so no one kept any records. Many mug designs were made by different manufacturers, and often labeled only with stickers. What we do know is that Tepco made many mugs for Trader Vic's and they weren't always marked. That may be as definitive as you'll get. :(

T