Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Collecting Tiki

Do you know who made this Tiki?

Pages: 1 23 replies

Hello I'm new to tiki culture so I do not yet recognise the look or style of individual artists. I recently found this on Cragslist and was wondering if anyone has any ideas as to the origin.
Thanks for the help..

J

A Wayne Coombs knock-off who popularized the dreaded "Grinning Tooth / Pineapple Head" style.

Is it listed in Florida ?

[ Edited by: JOHN-O 2014-01-28 11:33 ]

It looks like the mass produced tikis that were available at home improvement stores about five or so years ago.
Homedepot shows one online (discontinued) that is from Backyard Xscapes.
Likely made in Indonesia.

Also, it probably arrived in the states with a couple hundred twins. Not identical. :)

Eric is right, so we will just say "HomeDepot"
instead of the nameless slave carvers of Indonesia...

T

"Wayne Coombs knock-off who popularized the dreaded "Grinning Tooth / Pineapple Head" style."

Wayne sez...

Wayne was Awesome!!!

He was indeed, a real character - but he was a 70s carver who used three basic designs, the pineapple head being one of them, and he was widely copied, so that his grinning Tikis seemed to be everywhere in Florida and beyond. Now even in Indonesia it seems.

T

All true.
But I could not resist.

my dream now is to flip someone off from beyond the grave.

Thanks for the replies. It was posted on the Inland Empire, CA, CL and was located in Crestline, CA.

Irregardless of it's possible mass-market pedigree, I really like it, especially for $40. The weathering makes it all the better...

Look further. If you continue this route, a year or two down the line, you'll disown it.

Hind sight is 20 20, but Bro,
your forecast is priceless.