Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Collecting Tiki

Buying Broken Mugs! (Mug Restoration Project)

Pages: 1 7 replies

B
Burr posted on Mon, May 19, 2014 11:52 AM

Hi everyone!

I'm a tinkerer at heart, and I'd love to try my hand at repairing tiki mugs. Towards that end, I'd like to extend a simple offer: I'll buy your broken tiki mugs! (For whatever you think is fair.) Or alternatively, if you are willing to donate your broken mug(s) to the cause, I'll gladly compensate you for the shipping fees.

I'm new here (long time lurker), so I guess I should share a bit about me. I'm a senior at Indiana University, studying anthropology and art history with a focus on Oceania and indigenous arts. I'll soon be doing an internship at the Smithsonian NMNH, aiding with research on the conservation of Hawaiian barkcloth from the U.S. Exploring Expedition of 1838-1842. I've had some experience working with pottery, but only in a studio, not a conservation lab. I'm pretty excited to give it a shot though, and I'm looking forward to sharing my results!

Once I have some broken pieces to work with, I'll do what I can to share what I learn. This might include progress shots, notes on what works and what doesn't, recommended reading materials, and - hopefully - full-fledged tutorials about how to best repair tiki mugs.

Unfortunately, I cannot offer to restore your mugs and send them back to you at this time. I simply don't feel comfortable enough with my conservation skills just yet. This is definitely a service that I hope to offer in the (far) future.

Lastly - why tiki mugs? Why not practice with other ceramics? Frankly, I am mad about tiki mugs. They are the only ceramics I truly care about. If I have a broken tiki mug in my hands, by God, it shall be fixed! If I have a broken dinner plate, meh.

Things that I am dying to try: