Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Other Crafts

My Very Own Disney Pele Tiki.

Pages: 1 15 replies

Aloha! I simply had to have my own Pele from the Enchanted Tiki Room. I knew Disney Security was smarter than me, so it took me a long time to figure out how to pull this off. When Big Lots put out their knockoff, I was able to forget all about it for a little while, but the size and the volcano hat was getting on my nerves and then she started tipping over and cracking and I got really tired of trying to fix the lousy thing. It took a couple years of researching viable methods and materials, and took a hundred pictures at the Polynesian Resort. I've been working on it off and on for over a year, but it's finally looking like something I would dare show to all of you talented people that frequent this site. I don't usually do this sort of stuff, I'm an electrician! This has been really difficult, and it makes me appreciate the super talented Mr. Rolly Crump more than ever. It also makes me appreciate the patience of my dear wife who has been putting up with a big mess. And here we go…

Foam!

A little less foam!

Less foam, more foam, and starting to experiment with the goop.

Less foam, more foam, more goop, and experimenting with paint. Those birds are a pain! Don't attempt to do this sober, but don't drink very much either.

And this brings us to where I'm at. She needs ears and a lot more detail work, and at least another whole day of dry brush work. As you can see I did have to make certain adjustments due to limitations of materials, limitations of talent, and she's way bulky on the bottom so she can stand up on her own without being welded to rebar inside a concrete base.

I am eager to see what comments, suggestions, or questions any of you might have. Mahalo!
-Aloyzius

Very nice !!!

Whoa! Very impressive. :)

Wonderful. Thank you for the step by step photos. Wendy